Art colony in Carrizozo, New Mexico

I decided to spend a day away from my studio and discover the artist colony right in my backyard. I spent it with a friend, perusing the galleries and taking to the artists. I came home, refreshed, renewed and inspired. I took a lot of pictures and have posted them to share. Carrizozo, New Mexico is in the midst of a revival. Home of the Painted Donkeys. My favorite was the Frida Khalo burro. We visited Gallery 408 and made our way around all the open studios. Artists are buying up properties on the main street and turning them into interesting art studios and living spaces. Definitely worth visiting while on vacation in the Land of Enchantment. Awesome antique store made me feel like I was back in New York City. The collection of antiquities was phenomenal.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

