Nude with birds sculpture

Still working this evening finishing some sculptures while the kiln is heating up. The hardest part is deciding what finish to apply to a clay piece after the firing. Since I’m scared to death of messing up with a glaze, I usually apply layers of colors and a cold patina. Someday I will have the confidence to try glazes again but after the last disaster, I’d rather be safe.
This sculpture was supposed to be a stark white but I changed my mind and started adding blues and browns and terra cotta colors. the birds were black and now they are dark blue.. So how about some critique? I’d love to hear from everyone out there. Any suggestions or comments?
Its a fantasy piece and the purpose of the sculpture was as a challenge to create a woman’s figure in clay.

Leave a Reply

